INTERVIEW: Temples of Youth

INTERVIEW:

 

 Image may contain: 4 people, people standing

 

Temples of Youth

____

THE Winchester-based duo Temples of Youth have unleashed…

Image may contain: text

the new single, Amber. The track’s lyrics document a certain helplessness: that is balanced out by a summery feel and a real sense of hope. I ask the duo about the song and whether it will lead to an E.P. anytime soon. They discuss Winchester and how important the area is; the gigs they are looking forward to and who their musical idols are. Given the fact Temples of Youth is Jo and Paul: I ask about mixed-gender duos and why the resurgence and explosion. The guys talk about the summer and plans; the albums they hold dearest and advice they would give to any newcomers emerging at the moment.

______

Hi, guys, how are you? How have your weeks been?

Jo: Hello! Not bad, thank you – although I’m wondering where the sun has gone?

Paul: Hi! Great, thanks

For those new to your work, can you introduce yourself, please?

J: I’m Jo. I sing, play a little guitar and do some percussion too.

P: I’m Paul and I play guitar and do a little backing singing – when I have to. Our band is Temples of Youth and we’re from Winchester.

Amber is the new single. Was it quite a hard song to put together? Who can in with the idea of was it quite a unified, joint process?

J: I’ll leave this question to Paul as he wrote this one!

P: Well, for a while, we had been talking about writing some more upbeat tracks as our set was quite intense, initially. A lot of the songs were more stripped-down or had sparse arrangements so we wanted a few bigger ones too – so that we had more of a dynamic.

I had a melody in my head for the verse and the main riff came to me while I was piecing it together.

I sent some demos and the lyrics to Jo for her feedback and we played it through – making some adjustments and it developed from there. Although I led on it, Jo’s input was essential in getting it right.

Paul, you have said the track documents a helplessness but has an upbeat, summery track. Was it quite tricky balancing those dichotomies and what was it like hearing the song back for the first time?

P: I like a lot of songs that have a theme that contradicts the atmosphere. There are a lot of melodic and upbeat Pop songs that have quite dark lyrics or themes. I think that’s good because it means you can turn bad feelings or feelings of uncertainty into something uplifting – but still get your message across. Dancing in the darkness!

I’ve heard the song a billion times while I was mixing it so I can’t remember what it sounded like (the first song). I think it fell together fairly smoothly. It never sounds like the initial idea in your head but it often becomes something more interesting anyway.

I am interviewing a lot of mixed-gender duos at the moment. I am interested why there is such a resurgence but not too sure. Have you any insight into this?

J: That’s a tough one! I’m really not sure to be honest.

I think there’s a lot of people out there who have maybe tried the bigger-band thing and it’s not worked; so try and do something where the dynamic is easier to manage?

I mean, we don’t always agree on everything – but if there were more of us there’d be more minds to consider. The mix-gender resurgence is a mystery to me!

P: Yeah, I agree. Maybe people find it easier with smaller numbers? As for the mixed-gender; I’ve no idea!

Image may contain: one or more people

I think duos, in general, have a connection bands do not. Is it easier, creatively, to create the kind of songs you want? Do you think, if Temples of Youth was a four-piece, let’s say, the songs would be less natural and too cluttered?

J: I think it has its pros and cons – it’s great that we’re on the same page and we know where we want to be; but, sometimes, we can get very absorbed and a third or fourth opinion would probably be helpful! I think overall it is easier though – and we’re very lucky to get on so well.

P: Absolutely. It gives us more control and flexibility and I think it helps us stay true to our ideas; but, at the same time, it’s the two of us trying to write, record; mix, rehearse; perform, promote; design imagery etc. It can fry our brains!

Are you two thinking ahead to new music? Is there an E.P. brewing right now?

J: We are always looking ahead and writing new material. We’re holding off on an EP for now as we want to get a small team behind us before we release anything properly. At the moment, we’re releasing tracks throughout the year; gauging the response and working on gaining a following.

BBC Introducing has recognised Temples of Youth. Is it important getting this sort of acclaim early on?

J: I wouldn’t say it was important – I guess it depends on what you want to achieve with your music. If you’re doing it as a hobby because you love it then who needs praise!? Why does it matter!? Do what you love always, regardless of the feedback. If you’re wanting to make this your career – then, yes, the acknowledgement from places like BBC Introducing is encouraging – and we really value all of the support they’ve shown us so far.

P: They have been very supportive which is great and does help to get your name around.

 Image may contain: one or more people

Do you have quite a consistent and matching set of musical idols or are your tastes quite different? Is it your similarities or differences that make the music so engrossing?

J: I think our tastes are pretty different sometimes but when it comes to this project and its influences we’re on the same level. Paul’s introducing me to loads of bands – Wild Nothing, Beach House and Purity Ring. I hadn’t heard of any of these guys before him. It’s great because producing isn’t my strength and although I write loads of our tracks – I can’t physically create that on a screen like Paul can.

I think our differences definitely help with the writing process and gives our set its diversity.

P: I think our varying influences help to pull it in different directions – which is key to our sound. When Jo sends me sketches, I try to include all the elements as there are beats and melodies that I wouldn’t have thought of so that gives it variation. I love so many bands and artists but there are certain sounds that affect me.

I try to just throw those in and see which ones work together and create the right atmosphere. Jo has a great skill for writing lyrics so I think our strengths complement each other.

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, people playing musical instruments, people on stage, guitar and text

You are based out of Winchester. Is it quite easy to get gigs and attention there or is there a need and desire to move to somewhere like London?

J: Winchester has a music scene – but the type of music we’re making would most definitely get more attention in places like London for Brighton. Moving isn’t something we’ve discussed – and I don’t think either of us would want to particularly live in London right now! We’re doing as much as we can from here at the minute and that’s a bridge we’ll cross when we come to it.

P: Playing in London and Brighton is great and we usually get a good reaction in those places. It would be great to be based somewhere like that but it’s the practicalities of it, I guess. Either of those is in reach for performing though, which is useful.

I know you have a few gigs on the South Coast coming up. Are you looking forward to these and any more dates coming up?

J: Yeah, definitely! We have a hometown show in Winchester on the 11th May which we’re looking forward to – as we haven’t played at The Railway for quite a few months now. We’ve got a few festivals lined up which should be good – hoping to do some more shows around the South in June.

Summer is coming up (apparently). Does it get a lot busier for you then? How will your summer months unfold?

J: We’ve got quite a few things coming up but I think the summer is as busy as you want to make it!

We’re shooting some videos; got some P.R. campaigns and releases planned. We are busy all of the time to be honest!

P: We have plans unfolding.

If you each had to select the one album that has meant most to you which would they be and why?

J: Oh man, I am so bad at these questions. I can’t pick one. Errr. It would probably have to be Joni Mitchell’s Blue or For Emma, Forever Ago by Bon Iver. Or maybe Lana Del Rey’s Born to Die – that album holds a lot of memories for me.

P: I think Five Leaves Left by Nick Drake because it’s just so beautiful – and I can listen to it over and over without ever getting tired of it.

Are there any new/upcoming artists you advise we keep an eye out for this year at all?

J: We’re really liking PYN at the moment!

P: She’s great. I guess they’re not new-new but I discovered GEMS and Weyes Blood recently and they’re both amazing.

Image may contain: 2 people, people standing and beard

What advice would you give to any new artists coming through right now?

J: Do not let rejection get to you – it is inevitable and it is consistent and it is tiring but it’s part of the process – and you have to work through it.

P: Be true to your ideas and focus on the music.

Finally, and for being good sports, you can each name a song and I’ll play it here (not one of yours as I’ll do that)

J: PixxBow Down (from Age of Anxiety)

P: Asobi SeksuNew Years

_______

Follow Temples of Youth

 Image may contain: 1 person, sitting and night

Official:

https://www.templesofyouth.co.uk/

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/templesofyouth/

Twitter:

https://twitter.com/templesofyouth

Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/templesofyouth/

SoundCloud:

https://soundcloud.com/templesofyouth

YouTube:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUafnhe405BtVMeh75Xa0nQ 

Leave a Reply

