INTERVIEW: David Mark Bulley

INTERVIEW:

 

 

Image may contain: one or more people and night

 

David Mark Bulley

__________

THIS is not the first time I have interviewed David Mark Bulley but…

Image may contain: 1 person, text

he is someone so productive, one needs to keep abreast of all his happenings. I ask the musician about his latest E.P., Prologue, and what kind of themes are explored. The E.P. is a personal and emotive work so I was interested to know whether the recording was a hard process and how his songs come together. Bulley talks about some of his influences and albums that have inspired him along the way.

I am a fan of Prologue inclusion, Black Rainbow. Bulley discusses what the song is about and why it was an especially hard track to pen. Having such a great following around Asian and Europe; I ask whether there are tour dates and what it is like reaching so many people across the globe.

_________

Hi David, how are you? How has your week been?

Hey. I’m really good, thanks. I hope you guys are too.

My week has been pretty chill, thanks!

For those new to your work, can you introduce yourself, please?

Yeah sure. I’m David Mark Bulley from London, England. I’m a twenty-four-year-old singer-songwriter and, with my work, you can expect to hear passionate Pop-Rock songs based on my personal experiences.

Prologue, your E.P., is out soon (9th June). What can you tell me about the themes and stories explored in the work?

I think everyone no matter what age you are will be able to relate to it as it travels through heartache, obstacles; struggles and growing up after going through these experiences.

Image may contain: 1 person

You have said it documents life events and personal stories. Are all the songs on the E.P. culled from personal experiences?

Yes, they are.

Without sounding cheesy, I let my heart do the talking when it comes to songwriting!

Has it been quite a tough E.P. to record? How draining was it to record?

It’s been a very long process.

Some of the meanings behind the songs are very personal to me so it has taken me a while to feel ready to put my emotions into words – and to share them with the world.

Black Rainbow is my favourite track from the set. What can you reveal about that song and its origins?

At the time, I’d just come out of a very intense and toxic relationship.

I had so much to say but didn’t know how to say it so I just went into the studio and poured my heart out.

Image may contain: 1 person, night

Moreton is where you are based. What is the music scene like there? Do you get a lot of chances to perform locally?

I’m actually based in London but Moreton is my hometown – which has a lot of talent. A lot of my friends originate there – who are some of the most incredible singers and songwriters that I’ve had the privilege to work with.

You have a strong following in Japan, Poland and other nations. What, would you say, is the reason your music travels so far afield?

I think it’s because people can relate to it as they have probably gone through similar experiences in their own lives.

What has been the best memory from your time in music?

Doing my first arena performance at the Young Stars Festival in Warsaw, Poland. It was a very humbling experience, and, being able to experience what I had aspired towards when looking at my own idols as I was growing up, was an amazing feeling.

Are there any plans for touring later this year? Where will you be heading?

I’m currently supporting Sylwia Przybysz on her Tylko Raz tour in Poland.

There are also things in the pipeline for later this year – all will be revealed in good time!

What does the rest of the year hold? Are there any plans for more recorded work?

Yes, definitely!

Can you tell me those artists and albums, you’d say, have been most influential in your career?

ParamoreParamore

Thirty Seconds to MarsA Beautiful Lie

Adele25

You are a solo artist but, I imagine, would love to collaborate with others. If you had to select the one artist you covert most, who would that be? What would you sing together?

If I could get up on stage and perform one song with any artist it would have to be Alive with Sia.

If you had to select the three albums that have meant the most to you; which would they be and why?

I would definitely say that John Mayer’s Born and Raised was right up there; followed closely by Ella Henderson‘s Chapter 1 and Charlie Puth’s Nine Track Mind!

What advice would you give to any new artists starting out right now?

Remember where you came from.

Remember why you’re doing this and it should always be about the music – nothing more nothing less.

Finally, and for being a good sport, you can name a song and I’ll play it here (not one of yours as I’ll do that).

Martin Garrix & Dua LipaScared to Be Lonely

Thank you for your support, it means so much!

_____

Follow David Mark Bulley

Image may contain: 1 person

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/DavidMarkBulley/

Twitter:

https://twitter.com/davidmarkbulley?lang=en-gb

Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/davidmarkbulley/?hl=en

SoundCloud:

https://soundcloud.com/david-bulley

YouTube:

https://www.youtube.com/user/DavidBulleyMusic?feature=watch

Leave a Reply

