INTERVIEW: Richard Maule

INTERVIEW:

 

Image may contain: 1 person, playing a musical instrument, on stage and guitar 

PHOTO CREDIT: Dodo-Photography

 

Richard Maule

_________

THIS year looks set to be a very busy one…

Image may contain: 1 person, eyeglasses, beard and closeup

PHOTO CREDIT: Dodo-Photography

for the London-based singer-songwriter, Richard Maule. He talks to me about the video for Moment and his upcoming E.P., Flow. The video is a beautifully-shot piece that finds Maule in Africa. The E.P. itself is the most impressive work from a young artist with a lot more to say. In the past, he has performed house concerts so I was interested to see if any more were coming. Also, with the backing of BBC Radio 2 (Dermot O’Leary especially), I wondered what Maule’s plans for this year were; whether we could expect any further material. A Richard Maule song/E.P. is synonymous with a D.I.Y. ethic so I ask him about that and whether more new artists should take that approach. In addition, he talks about transferring to music full-time – quitting his regular job – and how important London is as a Muse.

________

Hi, Richard. How are you? How has your week been?

Hey, Sam. Yeah. Pretty eventful, thanks. I just finished filming my final music video for one of the singles from my new E.P., Flow. It’s about a trio of terrible divers in a competition – one where the worst diver wins. Also, the judges don’t really want to be there. It’s a fun video!

As well as that, I’ve begun to release some live session of my songs and the artwork. It’s exciting!

For those new to your music can you introduce yourself, please?

Well, I’m a one-man Electro./Folk/Blues band. My live show involves me drumming, strumming the guitar and tapping the keys. There’s a lot going on but I Iove it that way. Easiest way to find out who I am is to check out my music.

Can you tell me how you got into music? Who were the artists that inspired you to take it up?

The artist that actually inspired me to take it up were actually my friends at uni. It was the first time I’d seen people I know (in the flesh) playing music so well. I realised that if they could play that well, so could I. I really decided to go full-throttle with my music when I lived in a hippo-community in Byron Bay, Australia for about six months.

People really like my songs and I managed to live off playing music for a year out there. It gave me the confidence to put value to my music and performances. I’m very thankful to all those people.

Flow is your new E.P. What is the meaning behind the title and what kind of events/people influenced the songs on the E.P.?

The meaning of Flow? I’ll let the people who listen to it decide. I think that’s the best way with most creative material: leave it open to the viewer/listener. They can often add their own meaning that way – which I love to hear happen. Flow was defiantly influenced by my last few years, though – that I will say.

Moment has arrived – complete with its lovely video. Not only does it promote the uplifting nature of the song but recalls a trip you took to Namibia last Christmas. What was it like filming the video and what kind of scenes/images can we expect from that video?

I have a more professionally-shot video coming out for my other single release, Let It Go, but for Moment, I wanted to share with people a more personal experience of my life. It was also one of the best times I’ve had to date. I filmed and edited the whole thing myself and it’s also a great memory for me to keep. Things to expect…lots of spinning video selfies of me in amazing, stunning places in Africa.

Will there be any more singles released from the E.P., and if so, can you tell us about them?

As I mentioned before, I am releasing a more professionally-shot video for Let It Go – which will be out in about four weeks or so. I also have a live church-session I shot in Notting Hill with a choir – for one of my more delicate songs on the E.P., Fire and Rage.

You are based out of London. How important is the city to you, as an artist, and are there any negatives about living in such a busy and vibrant city?

I love London; mainly because I get to see and meet so many artists all the time.

However, I feel it can be hard to swim through the masses of other talented artist and get yourself heard.

Image may contain: 2 people, people standing, shoes, sunglasses and outdoor

PHOTO CREDIT: Dodo-Photography

You are very much a D.I.Y. musician who is keen to connect with fans. Do you think the D.I.Y. route is one new many musicians will have to take – with costs and studio fees – and what is it like having such an intimate relationship with your fans?

So, I love the control I get of being a D.I.Y. artist. Don’t get me wrong: I’d love to work in a kitted-out studio with the top people, but at least many of us have a place where we can still record very well-produced music. I think the majority of artists these days begin the D.I.Y. route to then go to working with a label and other producers. Saying that; I have met many successful artists who choice to remain D.I.Y. artists in many areas as it gives them full creative control. It’s a great option for artists to have, either way.

Something I’ve really enjoy from being a D.I.Y. artist is how involved I get with my fans. Especially over the last few years; I have been loving doing stripped-back versions of my songs in intimate house concert-style settings.

With companies such as Sofar Sounds, and also, setting up my own living room/house concert tours. They are normally unplugged: you are inches from the audience, no-one makes a sound and I often get the audience singing and clapping with me! It’s a lot of fun and a unique experience for all.

In April, you are doing a series of house concerts around the U.K. and Germany. Is this the first time you’ve embarked on such a tour and any towns/areas you are especially keen to visit?

No, I toured around Germany last summer – which was amazing and met so many lovely people. I’ve also toured around the U.K. doing house concerts. It’s a great way to gig and tour. This time, I’m going to a few new places in Germany – Bonn, Cologne and possibly a few other new places; so I’m excited about those.

Do you think this style of performance is the future of music? It seems like a less-expensive and easily-accessible route in? Do you feel more musicians should get into the house concert route?

I do think it’s a strong, viable path for many artist these days – there are so many pluses to doing it. Yes, if they enjoy new experiences and intimate gigs then they definitely should. However, you can’t beat a full-on music venue. They are just two totally different animals.

Image may contain: one or more people, beard and sunglasses

PHOTO CREDIT: Dodo-Photography

I know you are quitting your job in July and pursuing the music dream. What was the moment that compelled that decision? Are you a bit nervous? 

Yeah, big decision! I’m excited for what will come. Mix things up a bit!

I’ve got one life and I intend to follow my dreams whatever they may be. The only thing I haven’t done yet it gone full-time with the music so I thought, ‘why not’, nothing to lose.

I know that I won’t regret it, however, I will regret if I don’t go for it.

Have you any plans for more music this year? Any tour dates in the pipeline?

I am co-writing again now so will have another E.P. out at the end of the year, maybe before. I am collaborating with a few artist on some more Dance tracks so keep your eyes peeled for me featuring on those. As I mentioned, I’m touring around the U.K. and Europe in April – so if you want me to come and play for you at your house or venue then email me at richardmaule1@live.co.uk.

Which have been the three albums that have inspired you most?

Ben Howard – The Kingdom

James Blake – Overgrown

Bon Iver (all of his albums!)

Image may contain: one or more people and outdoor

Are there any new acts out there you recommend we check out?

Jack Garratt – if you haven’t heard of him yet.

Zak Abel, Josh Savage and Harry Pane.

What advice would you give to new musicians coming through?

I wouldn’t presume to know much or have good advice, however, I’d say, go for it full-throttle straight-away.

All-in. Don’t hesitate. Be persistent. Focus on the art, not the result, and enjoy, most of all.

Remember, you play music because it is fun – and that is the only point to it!

Finally, and for being a good sport, you can pick a song (not one of yours as I’ll do that) and I’ll play it here.

Amazing!

________

Follow Richard Maule

Image may contain: 1 person, playing a musical instrument, guitar, beard and sunglasses

PHOTO CREDIT: Dodo-Photography

Official:

https://www.richardmaulemusic.co.uk/

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/Richard.Maule/

Twitter:

https://twitter.com/richardmaule1

Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/richardmaule/?hl=en

SoundCloud:

https://soundcloud.com/richardmaule

YouTube:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCc0Rxh8p86135ir70TGI0cw 

 

Leave a Reply

