INTERVIEW: Laura Muccini

INTERVIEW:

 

Image may contain: 1 person 

 

Laura Muccini

_________

ITALIAN-born singer-songwriter Laura Muccini has…

Image may contain: 1 person

undergone a lot of change in the past few years. Now residing in London; I talk to her about the importance of her children and the song, My Prayer of Love. It is an ode to her husband: someone whose illness dramatically changed her perspectives and priorities: forced her to look at her own life, and, subsequently, led to one of her most emotional and heartfelt songs. In addition, Muccini discusses her time in the fashion industry and the beauty of Milan; whether she will ever return to Paris and if we can expect any new music in the coming months. It is a revealing interview with one of the bravest and most positive-thinking artists I have encountered for some time.

__________

Hi, Laura. How are you? How has your week been?

Hi…I’m fine. Thanks.

For those new to your music, can you introduce yourself, please?

I’m an Italian singer and songwriter living in London. I started composing Pop music last year thanks to a major change happened in my life.

You were born in Italy but live in London. What compelled the move to the U.K. and a switch between Opera and Pop?

I lived in major cities – Milan, Paris and London – and I feel London is the more international one (and the) most vibrant.

The switch from Opera to Pop happened when I met a vocal coach here in London who suggested I starting writing as well. I kept going…

Image may contain: 1 person, sitting and indoor

You met your husband in Milan and followed him to Paris. How influential and important was he in terms of your music and life in general?

My husband is, for sure, the most important person in my life (with my kids and my mother). He always believed in me and he taught me how to have self-confident and love myself.

On that note; My Prayer of Love is a love letter to him. He has a tumour; so I can imagine writing the song has been a challenge. How difficult was it writing the song with your husband’s health in mind?

Actually, when you’re conscious that you can die, all your priorities change. I realised dedicating a lot of time with family, and doing things that I love, is so important.

At that point, I realised that I dreamt all my life of being a singer and songwriter – and even if no-one will know my name or my songs; I tried and I did my best.

I will have no regrets…

When he was diagnosed with the tumour, it provided a sense of clarity: music was a way of coping and channelling fear into something cathartic and productive. Was it hard stepping, briefly, away from fashion and MINT (where you are a buyer)?

I took two years to really understand my life has been changed so much…that I could be happy in another way.  Acceptance is always the toughest step. After that, you start to build your life again with new perspectives and new challenges.

Do you still visit Paris or are you based in London full-time? What are the main differences between the cities in terms of music and the people?

I’m living in London full-time now and I feel (London) is much more alive than Paris: people are more open-minded and happy. I’m fascinated by the beauty of La Ville Lumière: I feel Paris is so romantic and eternal.

Can we expect to see an E.P. or album from you this year?

Of course. I will release my L.P. in April with five songs.

Your music and voice have been compared with Regina Spektor, Sia and Vanessa Carlton. Who were the artists you grew up listening to?

For sure. I know and love all of them. I think I’m close to Sia in terms of harmonies and sounds.

I grow up also with a lot of Italian artist like Giorgia, Laura Pausini. But, I always loved the English-speaking ones: my favourite, at the time, were Whitney (Houston) and Beyoncé.

In terms of the albums that have been most influential to you, which would you single out?

Domino by Jessie J – in terms of creativity and vocal abilities.

You have come from a coastal village in North Italy to Paris and across to London. You have spent time in Milan and worked in the Paris fashion industry. Which memories, to you, stand out as the most special?

So many incredible memories. The most special were when my daughters were born (one in Milan and two in Paris).

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, closeup

Have you any plans with regards performing this year? Any London/U.K. dates we can look forward to?

Not yet: except some nights in London clubs.

Music means different things to different people. For someone who has to balance motherhood, an ill husband and everything else in life: how important is music to you when it comes to making sense of everything?

Music, for me: it’s the way to escape my routine, and also, the instrument that puts cheerfulness in my life (with my daughters).

Are there any new artists out there you’d recommend we check out?

I would recommend Matoma, AlunaGeorge and Raleigh Ritchie.

What advice would you give any new songwriters coming through?

Put your feeling into music and feel free to do wrong and try again.

Perfection doesn’t come overnight: it comes as a meticulous daily job.

Finally, and for being a good sport, you can name any song you like (not your own as I’ll do that) and I’ll play it here.

Saddest Vanilla from Jess Glynne.

___________

Follow Laura Muccini

Image may contain: one or more people

Official:

https://www.lauramuccini.com/

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/LauraMucciniSinger/

Twitter:

https://twitter.com/lauramuccini

Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/lauramuccini/

SoundCloud:

https://soundcloud.com/laura-muccini

YouTube:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFLYD_1QFpAk5fdCnA7Egxw

Leave a Reply

